Changing the Guard in Horry County Republican Politics

By Paul Gable and John Bonsignor

We are seeing a changing of the guard in Republican politics in Horry County. The last election cycle brought some new faces to the fore as some of our older incumbents chose to retire.

That trend is continuing in 2016.

I asked my good friend and former television partner John Bonsignor to help me produce eight thumbnail sketches of some up and coming office holders and candidates in the Republican Party.

The Republican party is beginning to welcome with open arms, into the political arena, young, talented, and desirable new faces to replace their old guard. As many of the elected old timers, having been in office for many years, feel it’s time to move on and give way to the new blood of talented candidates coming up.

Jeff Johnson – completing his first term as representative for SC House District 58, Johnson has consistently supported small government, conservative issues. He is a strong believer in family values and believes the state has an obligation to maintain its existing infrastructure that is so vital to small business.

Heather Ammons Crawford – finishing her second full term as representative for SC House District 68, fiscal responsibility, pro life and second amendment issues are at the top of her goals. Ammons Crawford is also South Carolina National Committeewoman for the Young Republican National Federation engaging young people across the country.

Russell Fry – our newest representative to the SC House, he has served SC House District 106 since winning a special election to fill an unexpired term last fall. Fry’s goals are working for a “prosperous South Carolina for our kids, ensuring they got a good education and a strong foundation.”

Tyler Servant – representing Horry County Council District 5 since January 2015, Servant seeks to bring new and innovative thinking to Horry County Council including waste cutting plans. He looks hard at road improvements needed in District 5 and has been successful in acquiring a federal grant for beach renourishment on the South Strand.

Cam Crawford – represents Horry County Council District 6 since winning a special election last summer. Crawford is the husband of Heather Ammons Crawford making them one of the foremost political families in the area. Having formerly served as a district office representative for Rep. Henry Brown, Crawford is familiar with the inner workings of government cooperation between the local, state and federal levels.  Higher paying jobs for the area, crime prevention and improved infrastructure top his list of issues.

Jonathan Hyman – seeking his first elective office, Hyman is bringing his 15 years of experience in the Horry County Treasurer’s office to a campaign for the top job. He has a degree in Business Management and Finance from the Wall School of Business at Coastal Carolina University. Hyman was hired by former Treasurer Johnny C. Allen and has worked closely with current Treasurer Roddy Dickinson over the last 15 years. Both Allen and Dickinson have endorsed Hyman’s candidacy and are working hard to make him their successor.

David Jordan – another newcomer to political campaigns, Jordan is seeking to replace retiring Clerk of Courts Melanie Huggins. Jordan is a lawyer and accountant who would bring a unique skill set to the office. He has served at both city and county levels of government on the City of Conway Planning Commission,Horry County Board of Fee Appeals and the Board of Architectural Review and Preservation. Jordan believes his experience as a lawyer will be an asset to the Clerk of Courts position and he will serve with dignity and professionalism.

Robert Seth Rabon – is another newcomer to political candidacy seeking to become the next Horry County Auditor. He holds an Associate Degree in Health Science and Business from Horry Georgetown Technical College. Rabon serves as a volunteer with the Aynor Fire Department, is a member of the Coastal Board of Realtors and is a member of the Higher Education Commission for Coastal Carolina University.

Comments are closed.